# **EXECUTIVE DECISION RECORD**

# 18 JULY 2023

# **EDUCATION, SKILLS & WELLBEING CABINET BOARD - SPECIAL**

### **Cabinet Members:**

Councillors: C.Phillips (Chair), N.Jenkins, J.Hurley and C.Phillips.

#### Officers in Attendance:

J.Burge, I.Guy, C.Jones and T.Davies

## 1. APPOINTMENT OF CHAIRPERSON

It was agreed that Councillor Cen Phillips be appointed as Chairperson of the meeting.

## 2. CHAIRPERSONS ANNOUNCEMENT/S

The Chair welcomed everyone to the meeting.

### 3. **DECLARATIONS OF INTEREST**

There was a declaration received from Cllr Nia Jenkins, who informed Members she was governor at Alltwen Primary School.

Cllr Jenkins removed herself from the meeting, when members discussed an appointment at Alltwen Primary School. Cllr Jenkins did not take part in this vote, and returned to the meeting when the decision concluded.

## 4. MINUTES OF PREVIOUS MEETING

The minutes of the previous meeting were removed from the meeting and members informed they would be presented at the next Education Cabinet Board.

## 5. **PUBLIC QUESTION TIME**

There were no questions received from the public.

## 6. APPOINTMENT OF LA GOVERNORS

#### **Decision:**

TO APPOINT AND REMOVE LA GOVERNOR REPRESENTATIVES FROM THE FOLLOWING SCHOOLS,

School	Date of Vacancy	Decision
Abbey Primary School	Immediate	Appointment of Mr. Joseph Baugh
Alltwen Primary School	Immediate 01/01/2024	Appointment of Rev. Jeffrey Thomas Re-appoint Miss Helen Watkin
Baglan Primary School	Immediate	Future appointment to be made
Catwg Primary School	01/01/2024	Re-appoint Mrs. Susan Margaret Davies
Cilffriw Primary School	Immediate	Future appointment to be made
Coed Hirwaun Primary School	01/01/2024	Re-appoint Cllr. Rob Jones
Coedffranc Primary School	Immediate	Future appointment to be made
Creunant Primary School	Immediate	Future appointment to be made
Cwmnedd Primary School	Immediate	Appointment of Mrs. Kathy Parry- Jones
Cwmtawe Community School	Immediate	Future appointment to be made
Eastern Primary School	Immediate	Future appointment to be made
Sandfields Primary School	01/01/2024	Re-appointment of Mr. Almon Ryan Macalino
The Federated Primary Schools of the Upper Afan Valley	Immediate 09/09/2023 09/09/2023 09/09/2023	Appointment of Cllr. Jeff Jones Re-appoint Cllr. Scott Jones Re-appoint Mrs. Nicola Davies Re-appoint Mrs. Barbara Trahar
Tonnau Primary School	Immediate Immediate	Appointment of Mrs. Samantha Owen Appointment of Mrs. Lyndsey Sweeney
Tywyn	Immediate	Appointment of Mrs. Mary O'Kane

	01/01/2024	Re-appointment of Mr. John O'Dwyer
YG Blaendulais	Immediate	Future appointment to be made
YG Pontardawe	Immediate Immediate Immediate	Future appointment to be made Future appointment to be made Future appointment to be made
YG Rhosafan	01/01/2024	Re-appointment Mrs. Cathryn Davies
YG Tregeles	Immediate Immediate	Appointment of Cllr. Dan Thomas Future appointment to be made
Ynysfach	01/01/2024	Re-appointment Mrs. Catherine Chappell

### **Reason for Decision:**

To enable the Authority to contribute to effective school governance through representation on school governing bodies.

### Implementation of Decision:

The decision is implemented following the three-day calling period, which ended at 9.00am on Saturday 22<sup>nd</sup> July 2023.

## **Consultation:**

There was no requirement to conduct external consultation, however consultation had been undertaken with respective ward members.

## 7. URGENT ITEMS

There were none.

# CHAIRPERSON